Skip to Main Content

CAHS Library: Databases

Major Databases

               

            

          



Note for the Trip database: Create a login using your WA health email and select Child and Adolescent Health Service / Perth Children's Hospital under institution to access full text articles where available

Additional Databases

Grey Literature


The AACODS checklist - a tool designed to enable evaluation and critical appraisal of grey literature.
Jess Tyndall, Flinders University, 2010. Guidance on how to evaluate and critically appraise grey literature.

Acts, Regulations & Legislation

Difference between PubMed and Medline

Pubmed is an interface used to search Medline, as well as additional biomedical content. Ovid Medline is an interface for searching only Medline content. Pubmed is more user-friendly and generous and allows you to search through more content than Ovid Medline. PubMed returns search results by automatically expanding the search entered by the user.  However, Ovid Medline allows you to perform a more focused/structured search. You will get slightly different results by searching in each database due to differences in search algorithms.

In Pubmed, in addition to Medline articles, you will have access to PubMedCentral papers, which are full text articles deposited to promote open access, and articles that are “in process” (with approximately 1-2 days time lag) that is, prior to being indexed with MeSH terms, and articles submitted by publishers, “ahead of print.” This is why if you search for the same term in Medline and in Pubmed, you may obtain as many as ten thousand more articles in Pubmed.

Here is the link to the National Library of Medicine’s page with a much more complete explanation of how Medline, Pubmed and PubMedCentral are different:
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/dif_med_pub.html

Before you give up on searching Ovid Medline, here is why you may want to use it for certain searches.

All Medline articles have been indexed with assigned MeSH terms. If you have a specific search you are doing you will get the closest, most specific match to your terms by searching in Medline. This is why it is good to perform your search in more than one database.

Allied Health Databases

Drug Specific Databases

Please noteOn 16 December 2019, NLM closed down ToxLine and advised of new locations for ToxNet content.

Mobile Access

PubMed for handhelds        

Online MedEd     (individual paid subscription access)

Tips for effective database searching

  • Formulate an answerable question
  • Plan your search and then test the search strategy
  • Think about search terms and subjects, related topics and synonyms
  • Use a step by step approach to track results and enable  changes as you go
  • We recommend using both keywords and subject headings (or MESH)
  • Book into a searching databases session or an appointment with CAHS medical library.

Literature search tips

Online tutorial to assist you with your self-directed research.

Request Forms