Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CAHS Library: Library tutorial sessions

Library tutorial session plan

CAHS Medical Library provides tutorials on all our resources.  We offer one-on-one education sessions as well as group sessions for your department.  Below are some examples of the sessions which may be booked.  We are also happy to tailor a session to your requirements.  To discuss your requirements and to book sessions, please contact the Library.  You may also request training using our Education session form.

Note:  CAHS Medical Library has only one librarian.  Booking for a session is essential.

 

Session title

Duration

Content

 

Orientation

 

20 mins

 

Ø      Library tour

Ø      Borrower registration

Ø      Introduction to Library services

Ø      The Library website

 

 

Basic database searching

 

45 mins

 

Ø      Selecting a relevant database

Ø      Producing an effective search strategy

Ø      Finding full text

Ø      Printing/ saving/ exporting results to Endnote.

 

 

Searching for evidence

 

60 mins

 

Ø      Developing a clinical question

Ø      Using clinical decision-making tools such as BMJ Best Practice, UpToDate.

Ø      Searching Cochrane, Medline, PubMed and CINAHL databases for systematic reviews and RCTs

Ø      Printing/ saving/ exporting results to Endnote.

 

 

Keeping up to date

 

 

30 mins

 

Ø      Introduction to journal table of contents and subject alerting services via database searching

Ø      Browzine

Ø      QxMD

 

Endnote

 

60 mins

 

Ø      Creating an Endnote library

Ø      Downloading references from databases

Ø      Storing articles with their references

Ø      Inserting references into a Word document and formatting a bibliography.