2024 Child Health Research Symposium - Monday 4 – Thursday 7 November.
CAHS research skills seminar series brings you a platter of free, open-access resource designed to upskill busy clinical staff and students and improve research quality and impact.
CURRENT AND UPCOMING WORKSHOPS AND SEMINARS
Research Governance
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Research Ethics
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Research Funding and Grants
EndNote is reference management software with features that allows you to:
Free for CAHS staff - see our EndNote Guide
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Other Citation Tools:
RefME Citation Generator
Cite This For Me
DOI Citation Formatter
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Referencing and Writing Style Guides
The Vancouver style is now the preferred style for CAHS and should be used for referencing in all CAHS documents.
You will need to download the modified Vancouver CAHS Style
See Downloading Output Styles into EndNote for instructions.
This guide gives examples of the most common reference formats.
Not all publishers are reputable. Your reputation and wallet will be harmed if you publish in a predatory journal. There is NO comprehensive list of sites to avoid - instead you need to closely examine any publisher touting for content and payment to determine their trustworthiness. This cannot always be judged by the look of a site - only by the quality of the publication.
Being listed in DOAJ or holding membership in the Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association provides some indicators of quality but the best advice is to use the Think Check Submit website guidance and / or seek advice from senior researchers and clinicians.
An indicator of quality is if the journal is selected for indexing in major databases such as Medline, Embase, PsycInfo etc.
Please note: Article processing charges (APCs) with publishers is not covered by our annual subscriptions. Some publishers may allow to publish for free for our subscribed journals. Please choose Perth Children's Hospital as your institutional affiliation.
However, you will be charged for open access publishing. Please contact CAHS Research Department for funds to cover APCs.
You've written your paper - next step is to get that work out there into the scientific literature.
First step - get yourself an ORCID - Open Researcher and Contributor - use it with your submission to publishers.
Remember to cite your organisational affiliation.
Case report? Consider submitting to BMJ Case Reports - the Library currently has an institutional fellowship you can use.
Check if the journal you are considering submitting your paper to for publication is indexed in major indexes such as Medline, Embase, PsycInfo etc. Papers in journals that are indexed have a better chance of being discovered and having impact.
Guidelines
equator Network - Enhancing the QUAlity and Transparency Of health Research - an essential hub to find reporting guidelines for all types of research design
Not sure which journal to submit your paper to?
JANE - Journal / Author Name Estimator
Manuscript Matcher from the Web of Science Group with the Master Journal List An alternative - Using Manuscript Matcher from within EndNote
PubMed PubReMiner - search for topics similar to your paper and look at which journal titles are publishing similar papers
MeSH on demand - (primarily for identifying indexing terms for searching) but it also finds papers similar to yours after you paste in the title and abstract of your paper - shows where similar papers are being published
Manuscript Matcher - Endnote - The new journal matching feature suggests the top candidates for your manuscript. Just choose the publications you want, and start the process for submitting your work to the most credible, high-quality journals that match your topic and references.
What is Open Access?
Open Access (OA) is digital, online, free of access barriers, peer-reviewed research, compliant with copyright. OA is not self-publishing, backyard publishing, free of cost publishing. OA publishing models can be broadly categorized as:
Why choose Open Access?
OA Publishers & Associations
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
OpenDOAR: Directory of Open Access Repositories
DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books
AOASG: Australasian Open Access Strategy Group
OASPA: Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association
CORE - Aggregating the world's open access research papers
BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine): Basic Search (base-search.net)
Creative Commons Licences
Creative Commons Licences or CC Licences enable the sharing and reuse of creative content by individuals, institutions and companies. It gives people the right to make use of open access material on the Internet but only under certain conditions.
There are 6 different levels of CC Licences - click on the chart below for the permitted reuse provided by each CC Licence (CC BY Creative Commons Australia).
Not all CC Licences are compatible. See the following License Compatibility Chart
For more information see Creative Commons Australia
Build an Online Profile
Register an Author ID
Create a unique researcher /author ID to link all your research thereby facilitating discovery, avoiding misidentification and enabling you to track your research for grant applications. Use the following free tools:
Join an Online Network
Choose the right publisher
Improve visibility - choose Open Access publishing:
Look for prestigious publishers in your area of interest:
Check the Impact Factor of the journal:
Demonstrate your research impact
Citation analysis
When applying for grant applications you may be asked to demonstrate your research impact via citation analysis (bibliometrics). If you are affiliated with a university you may have access to the main citation databases. Scopus and Web of Science from which you can create citation reports as a quantitive measure of impact - see Curtin University Library Guide. Other ways of counting citations:
Publish or Perish
Google Scholar Citations
How to Track the Impact of Research Data with Metrics
Many databases now contain citation tracking information for individual articles including ScienceDirect; Highwire Press; Cochrane; BioMed Central
Calculate your h-index
The h-index is a metric designed to measure the productivity and impact of a researcher's work. The h-index is defined by how many h of a researcher's (or group's) publications have each had at least hcitations. So a h-index of 6 means that you have published 6 papers that have all been cited at least 6 times. You can use Publish or Perish or Google Scholar to calculate this for you. Or you can do so manually by locating citation counts for all published papers and ranking them numerically by the times cited in descending order (see below):
Altmetrics
Altmetrics track web usage as an alternative measure of research impact. This can include abstract views & downloads; blogs & media coverage. social media such as twitter; collections such as Zotero, Mendeley, CiteULike.
Some databases display Altmetrics for articles e.g. BMJ Journals Online, ScienceDirect
Clinical Trials Registers
Systematic Review Registers
Also see the Library's guide:
Use BrowZine to read journals on your desktop and iOS and Android devices.
Sync My Bookshelf and get alerts on ALL devices
To create Browzine Web account
To add your favourite journals to My Bookshelf
To add your favourite articles to My Articles
View Tables of Contents via Desktop, Mobile or Tablet
How to: Browzine Web video
How to: Browzine via Ipad
BrowZine requires IE 11, Chrome, Firefox or Safari
