Library: Aboriginal Health: Home

Databases Search Engines

Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet
Australian Policy Online - Indigenous Research and commentary on Aboriginal issues
BMJ Best Practice
CareSearch Palliative Care Knowledge Network
ERIC Education Research Information Center database (US)
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database
TRIP Database Create a login using your WA health email and select Child and Adolescent Health Service / Princess Margaret Hospital under institution to access full text articles where available
UpToDate

Terminology

Operational Directive OD 0435/13 Using the term ‘Aboriginal’ in all forms of communication for WA Health

Aboriginal Health Statistics / Reports

Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Social Health Atlases of Australia include demographic and social indicators, as well as perinatal, immunisation and mortality data. Produced by the Public Health Information Development Unit
Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Social Justice Publications
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples Australian Bureau of Statistics
AIHW Indigenous Australians Reports Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
Australian Institute of Health & Welfare Indigenous Observatory
Epidemiology Branch (WA Health Department) Access to the Department of Health Intranet is required
Indigenous Health Check (MBS 715) Data Tool (AIHW) The tool currently reports health checks at Medicare Local level
Longitudinal Study of Indigenous Children (LSIC) Department of Social Services
Western Australian Aboriginal Child Health Survey This survey produced four volumes of information pertaining to physical health, social and emotional wellbeing, educational experiences and families and communities.

Conferences

2022 AIATSIS Summit Our vision is a world in which Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander knowledge and cultures are recognised, respected, celebrated and valued.
AIDA2022 Conference
WORLD INDIGENOUS PEOPLES' CONFERENCE ON EDUCATION NOW HYBRID (WIPCE) The 12th WIPCE will be held at Tarndanya (place of the red kangaroo) in South Australia. WIPCE 2022 will feature an exciting Indigenous education program of keynote presentations, networking, interactive workshops, yarning circles, master classes with an associated rich and diverse cultural program.

Quick Search

Search Tips for Finding Aboriginal Health in Databases

Embase
Use INDIGENOUS Australian, the preferred subject term
Use keywords INDIGENOUS or AUSTRALIA* or ABORIGIN*
(* denotes variations, ie. Australian/s, Aborigine/s, Aboriginal/s)

MEDLINE
Use OCEANIC ANCESTRY GROUP, the preferred MeSH term & explode the subject term AUSTRALIA
Use keywords INDIGENOUS or AUSTRALIA* or ABORIGIN*
(* denotes variations, ie. Australian/s, Aborigine/s, Aboriginal/s)

PsycINFO
Use INDIGENOUS POPULATIONS, the preferred subject term & explode the subject term AUSTRALIA
Use keywords INDIGENOUS or AUSTRALIA* or ABORIGIN*
(* denotes variations, ie. Australian/s, Aborigine/s, Aboriginal/s)

PubMed
Search with the phrases/words OCEANIC ANCESTRY GROUP or AUSTRALIA
or INDIGENOUS or ABORIGIN*
(* denotes variations, ie. Australian/s, Aborigine/s, Aboriginal/s)

Aboriginal Consumer Health Services & Resources

Alcohol and Drug Services for Aboriginal People
Diabetes WA - Aboriginal Resources
Koorliny Moort Aboriginal Ambulatory Care Coordination program, Koorliny Moort (walking with families), provides out of hospital care to Aboriginal families who might find it hard to come to hospital for their paediatric appointments or who want to stay closer to home. We aim to improve out of hospital care for the sickest children closer to where their families live and work.
Well Mob - Healing our way

Australian Indigenous HealthBulletin

Latest Research

Searches run in major databases for the latest research published.

Aboriginal Health (PubMed) Uses Oceanic Ancestry Group & Australia as subject headings. Limited to articles published in the last 3 years
Aboriginal Health - limited to All Child (PubMed) Limited to All Child (0-18 yrs) & articles published in the last 5 years
Aboriginal Health Services (PubMed) Uses Health Services, Indigenous & Australia as subject headings. Limited to articles published in the last 3 years
Chronic wet cough (PubMed) Uses Wet cough & Oceanic Ancestry group as subject headings. Limited to All Child (0-18 yrs) & articles published in the last 3 years
PubMed via the Lowitja Institute's LIt.search This search tool provides easy access to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health literature on the PubMed NOTE - search results will not link to CAHS resources

Forms

Student Registration

Article Request
Library registration required

Book / Chapter Request
Library registration required

Education Session Request

By appointment

Education Session Feedback

Aboriginal Health: Home

Major Databases